Board of Control for Cricket in India BCCI

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) is the national governing body for cricket in India. The board was formed in December 1928, under the Tamil Nadu Societies Registration Act with six associations affiliated to it. Grant Govan was its first president and Anthony De Mello its first secretary. The board is affiliated to the International Cricket Council (ICC). The BCCI Chief is selected by the representatives of state cricket associations. The board’s HQ is in Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai. 

The objectives of the BCCI are (i)to control and improve standards of Cricket in India, (ii)to provide measures necessary for promotion and development of cricket and welfare and interests of cricketers, (iii)to strive professionalism in the game, (iv)to encourage formation of state, regional and other cricket associations, (v)to arrange, control, regulate and finance members of ICC, (vi)to arrange, control, regulate and finance visits of Indian cricket teams to tour countries that are members of ICC, (vii) selection of teams to represent India (viii) seletion of BCCI staff, (ix) lay out cricket grounds, (x) ensure match tickets are available, (xi) collecting funds and make donations, (xii)maintain database of all cricketers and so on.

The highest post at BCCI is the President of the Board of Control for Cricket in India.It is an honorary post, which is considered highly prestigious due to popularity of the game in India. The president is elected at the BCCI’s Annual General Meeting with each of the 30 affiliates of the BCCI getting a vote. The outgoing president also has a vote as chairman of the meeting. The post is rotated zone-wise across India and a person can hold the post of BCCI president for a maximum of three years.

The current interim BCCI president is Mr. C K Khanna. Former India captain Sourav Ganguly was elected as the president in October 2019. Jay Shah is the new secretary and Arun Dhumal is the new treasurer of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI).

Domestic cricket competitions organized by BCCI are Ranji Trophy, Irani Cup, Duleep Trophy, Vijay Hazare Trophy, Deodhar Trophy, Indian Premier League, Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, Senior Women’s One Day League, Senior Women’s T20 League and Cooch Behar Trophy.

The BCCI is India’s most affluent sporting body and tops the list among ten most affluent cricket boards in the world. BCCI does not depend on the Government of India for its finances. The global media rights for IPL is awarded to STAR India for ₹16,347.5 crore (US$2.4 billion) from 2018 to 2022. Star India owns the rights to all Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) matches played in India, pays around Rs 43 crore per match under that contract. BCCI owns and operates Indian Premiere League(IPL). Nike is BCCI’s official kit sponsor. Oppo had got a five-year deal with the BCCI in 2017, reportedly worth Rs. 1079 crore. However Bengaluru based-Byju’s replaced Oppo as the new shirt sponsor in July 2019. The deal is from September 5, 2019 to March 31, 2022. BCCI has a clause which allows transfer of sponsorship, reports say that the transfer is a tripartite agreement between Oppo, BYJU’s and the BCCI.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *